Skip to main content
ContestsDiverse Voices

Fall 2021 Diverse Voices Semifinalists

By July 7, 2021August 2nd, 2021No Comments

Thank you to all of the incredible writers who entered Diverse Voices this year! Your hard work, talent, and dedication to storytelling shines through in the entries we received.

As you probably know — WeScreenplay believes that the best way for writers to grow is through feedback. That is why WeScreenplay is providing free, written feedback with every single competition entry. We are glad to hear from so many of you how helpful the notes were and excited to see WeScreenplay writers are improving all the time!

If you are interested in hearing the next time this competition opens, subscribe for updates here.

We have a few upcoming announcements for the Fall 2021 Diverse Voices Screenwriting Lab, including:

  • Finalist Announcement — July 21st, 2021
  • Winners Announcement — August 15th, 2021

Winners will be invited to participate in our career-changing Fall Diverse Voices Lab! Many thanks to the competition jury who are helping us select our winners. They include:

Talitha Watkins, Head of the Management for Issa Rae’s company ColorCreative

Rhys Ernst, Producer and Director on TRANSPARENT

Charlie Swinbourne, Screenwriter focused on Deaf Culture

Michael [Boogie] Pinckney, Director & Creative Producer, Jax Media

Jen Ray, Literary Manager at Heroes and Villains Entertainment

We are thrilled to advance entries to the Semifinalist round for another read. A huge congratulations to every writer advancing. 


Without further ado, the Fall 2021 Diverse Voices Semifinalists can be found on Coverfly here or below

A Mystic Fog I Carry Yen Huang
Admissions Delani Wolf
Alien of Extraordinary Ability Rishan Dhamija, Sola Fadiran, Edwin Joseph
Americano James Tison, Gus Constantellis
And A Child Will Lead Jamil Akim O’Quinn
Ann Arbor Trevor Zhou
Ann Lowe Rodney Wilkins
Anthony & Miguel – “Pilot” Trevor Brown
Arrangements Sarah Casey
Astronomica Matthew Wollin
Awakening Zaelyna Beck
Bad Mango! Meghan Weinstein
Binding Mike Sheriff
Black Box Alexandra Shields
Black Santa Parco Richardson, Aiden Chapparone
Bucky Johnson James Barnes, Garrett Vanderwielen
Cambados, NJ Thomas Rivera Montes
Captain F*ck It Melanie Holmes
Caveat Emptor Ray Goldberg
Chasing Honey Laura Shamas
Cheaters Brittany Harris, Caitlin Gallo
Chilmark Stephen Nolly
Chokepiont Tamra Teig
Circle of Illumination Trisha Difazio
City of Skol Jason Cho
Colour My Love Starlett Hill
Commonwealth Jared Hardy
Concrete Evidence Paul Clarke
Control Z Jorge Pulido
Copper Ridge Rebecca Ghusn
Crowded Cori Woods
Daddies Ramon Watkins
Dark Magnolia Sam Overton
Double Negative Kelsea Mayfield
El Otro Lado Jianna Maarten Saada
Ela Antonio Aguinaga
Enter the Kingdom David Chang
Fight For Life Melvin Webb
Forbidden to See Us Scream in Tehran Farbod Ardebili
Generationals Suhashini Krishnan
Grunt Work Sal Bardo
Hatch Karim Khan
Her Mortal Remains Tracy Clifton
Hey , Wait A Minute! Michael-Leon Wooley
Hoe-Mission Eric Pou
I Enjoy Being a Girl! Brandon Krajewski
Lady Libertine Lina Khan
Lift Allison Orr Block
Lift Off W.E. Richardson
Mabel Elisa Manzini
Miss Shepherd Alison Headrick
Motherload Layla Soileau
My Best Friend’s Ashes McKenzie Moser
No Good Deed Heather Farlinger
No Traveler Returns Randall Thom
Off The Field Jormond Thompson
Original Tru Adam Huss
Our Town Talya Klein, Emmett Anderson
Out/Sourced Noa Aimeé, Wesley Tysdale
Outspoken – The Untold Story of Helen Keller Kathryn Fox
P***Y Connie Shi
Pendulum Dae Dunn
Perdido Eduardo Maytorena
Picture Book Perfect Gian-Paul Bergeron
Pig Lake Joslyn Jensen
Plum Town Kelly Yu
Pole Moles David Morris
Predatory Ashley Rose Wellman
Pulling Seedlings Eris Qian
Queen of the Amazons JL Ivory
Rendez-Vous Coxy Rodoni
Represent Susan Cinoman
Righteous Kathy Patterson
Root Katherine Street
Saturday Night Lesbian Tracie Laymon
Secondhand Miracles Jared Pascoe
Séverin Maggy Torres-Rodriguez
Sk8er Boiz Christopher Sullivan
Snow Globe Sheikh Jallow
Soar Becca Mann
South Central L.A Brenda E. Alvarez
Stepping On Dad Alexander Troxler
Sunshine Shifts Rebecca Davis
Swimming in Cuba Josie Melendez
Tasteless Lottie Finklaire
The Academy Brit Cowan
The Big Time Josh Bourne
The Devil Jennifer Hawkins
The Home Efrain Aldaco
The Mender R.B. Ripley
The Mural Carolyn Bradley
The Only Safe Place Left Is The Dark Warren Wagner
The Othered Minh Anh Vo Dinh
The Things I Cannot Change Aaron Lomeli
The Trade Winds Christina DeHayes
The Vet Karan Talwar
The White Mouse: Witch Heather Farlinger
Tiger Sea Suki Kaiser
Tiny-Time Hustlers Yvette Wren
Twin Talons Ladies Society for Acceptable Women Alex Otis
Whirlwind Monika Moreno-Lapp
White Terror Philip Lyu
Wildfires Eudie Pak
Winston Aashish Gadhvi
Yellow Fever Winnie Kemp

For all the latest from WeScreenplay, be sure to follow us on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.