Skip to main content

Announcing the 2018 WeScreenplay Feature Contest Finalists

By March 2, 2019May 16th, 2019No Comments

Thank you to all of the writers who entered the WeScreenplay Feature Competition this year! Your hard work, talent, and dedication to storytelling shines through in the entries we received.

From over 1,000 entries, we are thrilled to announce the top 40 scripts for the finalist round. A huge congratulations to every writer advancing — it is incredibly difficult to stand out at this level. To determine the winners, these scripts will be read once again by our team of readers and then the top scripts will be read by the industry jury which includes:

Karen Kirkland – Literary Agent
Karen Kirkland is a literary agent at the prestigious Abrams Artist Agency. Formerly, she worked as Nickelodean’s VP of Talent Development and numerous writers she has worked with have gone on to work at major outlets such as HBO, Comedy Central, Adult Swim, Fox, Amazon, Hulu, and NBCUniversal

Scott Carr – Literary Manager
Scott Carr is the principal literary manager at Management SGC. He has a history of working hard with his clients to sell their specs, get them staffed, and land them open writing assignments. He’s successfully worked with young writers to see their work realized, like with MISS SLOANE starring Jessica Chastain.

Melissa Azizi – Producer
Melissa Azizi is an executive at Pretty Pictures (THE DANISH GIRL, KINSEY). Melissa was on the WeScreenplay Feature Jury last year and is currently producing the 2nd place winner’s work!

Michael Doven – Producer
Michael Doven is a producer of such celebrated films as MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE, VANILLA SKY, MINORITY REPORT, A FEW GOOD MEN and THE LAST SAMURAI.

We also want to acknowledge all of the strong scripts that did not advance. It does not at all mean that our judges didn’t enjoy the read – all of the semifinalists scripts were strong writing samples and great stories. Thank you for entering your script and always keep writing.

Without further ado, the 2018 WeScreenplay Feature Contest Finalists:

A War on Terror written by Peter Haig
Blood in the Water written by Laura Gillis
Blood-Link written by Michael Prosser
Buried written by Karen Frank
Cake and Candles written by Sally Fitz
Childproof written by Michael Noonan
Distortion written by Travis Opgenorth
Ersatz written by Charles Ancelle
Escape Pod written by Eugene La Haye, Buster La Haye
Fiber written by Lukas Valderrama
Fireflies written by Tyler Welch
Forty Winks written by Andrew Stein
Glow written by Lee Burgess
Good Mother, Lavender Vine written by Stacey Pierce
Guilt written by Jamie Severson
Junk written by Doug Mallette
Last to Fall written by Jim Maceda
Little Bird written by Thomas Downs
Man’s Lost Friend written by Anthony Mazzarella
Ms. Greer written by Alica Gwinner
Orion written by Sebastian McGrogan
Rebuild written by Paul  Santana, Tate Ammons
Strawberry Bitch written by Patrick Poff
Susan the Spy written by Alva Moore
The Boy with the Pink Triangle written by Amy Reedy
The Devil, a Rebel, a Fool written by Clayton Fusco
The Emperor of Wyoming written by Michael Hamblin
The First Law written by Jack Christian, D. J. McPherson
The Fool’s Errand written by John Murphy, Chris Bramante
The Hawk of Quraysh written by Laila  Ujayli
The Last Frontier written by Holly Holstein
The Memory Bank written by Daniel Cooper, Adam Cooper
The Moment Between the Blink and the Pull written by Lori Bowen
The Superb Lyrebird and Other Creatures written by Wendy Young
The Witch of Dresden written by Tim Fasano
Trashed written by Samuel Brett Williams
Traumatized written by Kris Lippert
Tres Banditos written by Thomas Leupp
Turnabout written by Bill Hanan
What’s Mine written by Asya Perkins
Winter Jasmine written by Jennifer Cooney
Zharkov’s Masterpiece written by Elizabeth Samaroo

For all the latest from WeScreenplay, be sure to follow us on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.