Skip to main content

Announcing the 2017 WeScreenplay Feature Contest Quarterfinalists

By January 12, 2018April 12th, 2020No Comments

Thank you to the nearly one thousand writers who entered the 2017 WeScreenplay Feature Contest. Your hard work, talent, and dedication to storytelling shines through in the entries we received. We’re so honored to be entrusted with your projects which is why every entry is read at least twice and all scores are made transparent to the writer.

With such strong submissions, we are thrilled to advance 134 entries to the quarterfinal round for a third read. If your script is advancing, it means your first two judges agreed you have an excellent screenplay and places you and your project one step closer to over $20,000 in prizes and mentorship from some amazing industry leaders.

We also want to express our gratitude and encouragement to the scripts that will not be advancing to the next round. There were many strong scripts that did not advance. If your script is not on this list, it does not at all mean that our judges didn’t enjoy the read – in fact, we’re confident some of the scripts not advancing will bring their writers success in the very near future. Thank you for entering your script and always keep writing.

Finally – we’d like to encourage everyone to check out the 2018 WeScreenplay Diverse Voices Screenwriting Contest (link coming soon). Its mission is to provide a platform for promoting and encouraging diverse voices and stories. Previous winners have signed with management companies and optioned scripts.

Without further ado, the 2017 WeScreenplay Feature Contest Quarterfinalists:

2000 Miles Leanora Vernon
50 Miles From Boomtown Flo Baumann
A Better Place  Katterina Powers
A Witch In Salem Patrick Lewis
Absolute Priority Rebecca McElroy
Akatewa Jean-Marie Nazaleyrat & Edith Woi
All The Fish In The Sea Will Goodfellow
Amber Johnny Sanchez
Arc-Light Anthony Moore
Black & Blonde Jon Davis
Blue on Blue David Dasilma
Breakout to Mexico David Kurtz
Broken Head Clare Sladden
Butterfly Children Melanie Schiele
Chapter 4: I Blame The Beatles Stephanie Lavner
Children of the Dust John McCarney
Christmas Village Junction David Hill
Circus Boy Stephen Curran
Comic Book Kings Amanda Keener
Cordele Chris Stanford
Dannemora Matt Williams & Andrew Griffiths
Dark Ritual Kevin Kneupper
Dark-Skinned Girls Edith Cheng
David’s Rite Tammy K Gross
Day of Days Simon Carter
Death of a Fool Ismael Gomez III & Joe Leone
Deep Water Blues Richard  Guimond
Dmitri Goes South Tom Vecchio
Don’t Tread On Me Ronald Kelly
Elite Chaseton  Ennis
Final Choice Ravin Gandhi
Finding Beauty George Anson
Fire on Ice Courtney Suttle
Game-Changer Patrick Sherman
Gay Boy Brent Jordan
Glorious Mack Vern Lien
Gods and Guns Ken Floyd
Good Egg Nicole Gomez Fisher
Good Grief Mia Tate
Hamelin Paul Bayford
Happy Days Bernhard Riedhammer
Heartbreaker Andrew Stein
Hoarder Brendon Slee
Honey Boy Shia Labeouf & Otis Lort
I’m Not the One You’re Looking For Jim Jackson
In Chrysalis Nelson Downend
In My Life Mark Rosman
Iron Maiden Travis Opgenorth
It All Comes Down to This Scott Marshall Taylor & Patrick Wiegers
Journey To the Green Monster Andrew Rotondi
Lasting Impression Tiffany Shaw Ho
LevelLand George Anson
Lies in a Bottle Devin  Ershow
Lion Killer Adam Scheiner
Little Earthquakes Todd Bird
Lois Lake: Caped Crusader Don Ackerman
Love Nation Katherine Carter
Magi Richard  Giarraffa
Max Gets Played Matthew O’Connell
Mr. Moon Michael Langer
My Brother, the Taxidermist Bree Katz
My Mother’s Hands Jennifer Katz
Negative Space Adam Bradley
On the Black Kristen Mack
One Last Shot A.P. Gonzalez
One White Crow Pippa Hinchley
Orwell’s War Larry Bogad
Perfect Americans Farangis Siahpour
Phil. Marissa Lessman
Piece de Resistance Barry Leach
Plan B Paige Gresty
Plummet Matt Bishop
Pretty Girl Savannah Oakes
Quintana William LiPera
Rational Panic Robert Rhyne
Red Hats Michael Toay & Travis Mann
Refugee City Raza Rizvi & Gregory Mandarano
Remote Marc Roussel
Roger Brendan Cleaves & Stuart  Foreman
Saints and Poets Richard LaPorta
Scattering Jake Erica Tachoir
Scuppernongs Lynne Ashe
Sentience Clive Howard
Separate Journeys Maureen O’Grady
sHERlock Mary Wasche & Stan Jones
Snowblind Dan Maurer
Some Bad History Amanda Norman
Soul on Soul Linda Dahl
Spike Julia Smuts Louw
Spoon Fed Scott LaFortune
Stardust Susan Baronoff
Thank You For Waiting Jake Leister
The Bandit who stole Education  Kashon Coleman
The Brothers Winkelstein and the Homburg Hat Guy Polin
The Cannibal Trial Edward Anderson
The Cavalier Chris Dennis
The Coach  Keith Hannigan
The Crossing Joshua Bartolome
The Crossing Paul Sheridan
The Disease Khalil Sullins
The Driven Adam Bailey
The Face of the Earth Amanda Bermudez
The Fairy King Steven Snell
The Happiest Place On Earth Jon Davis
The Hardest Hit Sam Juergens
The Heart of a Tiger X SreyRam Kuy
The Isle of Thom Richard Miller
The Last Moon Sean McConville
The Maidservant’s Cap Jeff Opdyke
The Memphis Mafia Jason Williams
The Savage Land Jesus Celaya
The Sound of Everything David Hyde
The Sphinx Elena Gallen
The Start and The Finish Laura Gillis
The Sweethearts Gang James C. Schlicker
The Today King Timothy Burnham
The Trouble With Swift Rusty Lofgren
The Wonderful, Disturbing End of Jonah Bergson Gustavo Garzon
Those Who Hear Jerome Velinsky
Tinian Jon Davis
Uncanny Valley Tara Everhart
Unpromised Jason Chan
Untimely Sam Fasano
Valentyne Dashiell Finley
Warbrave Andres Rivera
We The People Christopher Rutledge
What Alice Found There Tracy Aziz-Pellegrino
Where the Hell is Lola Logan? Harry Hanson
Why The Willow Weeps Lafayette Parish
Wild Horses Brian Kowalchuk
Winter Jasmine Jennifer Cooney
Wrecking Ball Gus Avila
Your Monster Caroline Lindy
Zippers Neal Dhand