Skip to main content

Announcing the 2017 WeScreenplay Feature Contest Finalists

By February 23, 2018April 12th, 2020No Comments

Thank you to the nearly one thousand writers who entered The 2017 WeScreenplay Feature Contest. Your hard work, talent, and dedication to storytelling shine through in the entries we received.

This year we’re advancing the top 26 entries to the Finalist round for a 5th read. This highest scoring will then to be sent on to the industry jury that includes Director Dave Green, Executive Juliet Berman, Literary Manager Le’Ander Nicholson, and Executive Melissa Azizi.

Crafting a script that impacts four readers is extremely impressive, and we’re so excited for all the advancing writers! They’re on the path toward amazing mentorships with our incredible panel of judges. We are also giving away over $20,000 in cash, prizes, coverage, and more. Make sure to say congrats to the semifinalists on Facebook and Twitter!

However, there are excellent scripts that didn’t advance. The Semifinalist round was incredibly competitive. Just because your script isn’t on this list doesn’t at all mean that our judges didn’t enjoy the read – in fact, we’re certain that many scripts not advancing will bring their writer success in the very near future. Thank you for entering your script and always keep writing.

And now, the 2017 WeScreenplay Feature Contest  Finalists:

A Better Place written by Katterina Powers
A Witch In Salem written by Patrick Lewis
All The Fish In The Sea written by Will Goodfellow
Butterfly Children written by Melanie Schiele
Dark Ritual written by Kevin Kneupper
Game-Changer written by Patrick Sherman
Honey Boy written by Shia Labeouf, Otis Lort
In Chrysalis written by Nelson Downend
In My Life written by Mark Rosman
Mr. Moon written by Michael Langer
Orwell’s War written by Larry Bogad
Plan B written by Paige Gresty
Rational Panic written by Robert Rhyne
Remote written by Marc Roussel
Scattering Jake written by Erica Tachoir
Separate Journeys written by Maureen O’Grady
Snowblind written by Dan Maurer
The Cannibal Trial written by Edward Anderson
The Cavalier written by Chris Dennis
The Hardest Hit written by Sam Juergens
The Heart of a Tiger X written by SreyRam Kuy
The Memphis Mafia written by Jason Williams
The Sweethearts Gang written by James C. Schlicker
Those Who Hear written by Jerome Velinsky
Tinian written by Jon Davis
Valentyne written by Dashiell Finley