Skip to main content

2022 WeScreenplay Shorts Contest Semifinalists

By August 25, 2022August 26th, 2022No Comments

Thank you to all of the incredible writers who entered the WeScreenplay Shorts Contest this year!

We are thrilled to advance entries to the Semifinalist round for another read. A huge congratulations to every writer advancing. Stay tuned for the Finalist announcement on September 30th!

If you are interested in hearing the next time this competition opens, subscribe for updates here.

We also want to acknowledge all of the strong scripts that did not advance. If your script is not on this list, it does not at all mean that our judges didn’t enjoy the read – in fact, we’re confident some of the scripts not advancing will bring their writers success in the very near future. Thank you for entering your script and always keep writing.

Without further ado, the 2022 WeScreenplay Shorts Contest Semifinalists can be found on Coverfly here or below.

/Haaw/ Joey Scoma
Chrome Plated Sarah Ward
Copy Cat Vanessa Branch
Dolls in the Walls Matt McCarthy, Katherine Cox
Dona Sebastiana Patricia Chavez
Dream Lover J.L. Reed
Eden Tiyan Newman
Exhumation Steven Stiefel, M.E. Ellington
Family Business Callum Henderson
Gearjammer Branko Maksic
Gender Reveal Party Alison Parker
Golden Garden Takeout Maggie Wong
Harold, Electra and our Lord, David Attenborough Kirsty Zane
Heartstrings J.D. Zelman, Matthew Dushkes
Henry The Head I. S. Gianello
House Keeping Leanna Adams
I Hope This Email Finds You Well Quinton Buxton
Joey Learns To Fly Tamara Jensen
Laissez-Faire Evasion Alejandro Castillon
Man, Interrupted Vanessa Agnelli
Maureen Olivia Owyeung
Meat Wagon Jeff Speed
NONSELF J. J. Hillard
Only Child Blues Addison Egan
Oversight Morgan Nikola-Wren
Paper Son of Angel Island Howard Hong
Pension Plan Natalie Hunter
Personal worth a.k.a The Untitled Female Founder Project    Vanessa J. Scull
Pick One Matthew Serrano
Pistachio Dorothy Nguyen
Possum Lyndal Simpson
Prince Jessica Rowlands
Pullin’ It Together Joenique C. Rose
Say Yes Gabe Berry
Second Time Around Jude Leese
St. NICKED (Based on True Events) Jake Halliwell
STOOL Gavin Carlton
Symbiotic David Irvine, Joseph Capalbi
The Blouse Ksenia Naughton
The Door in the Mirror Geoff Murillo
The Frightened Lorna Norrise, Lauren Rosson
The Ghost of Pembroke Lodge Olga Holtz
The Ghostodians Leila Murton Poole
The Last Fax Ever Steven Demmler
The Selfie Chad Wellinger
The Untamed Olga Holtz
Welcome to Chinatown Benjamin Pollack

For all the latest from WeScreenplay, be sure to follow us on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.